Search for a new job

Find Jobs

 
Home > Careers & Employment > Other > Does anyone know about McGuire Estates? Are they for real?

Does anyone know about McGuire Estates? Are they for real?

Category: Other

LindaLinda


I received an email about a job as an administrative assistant working from home. Are these guys legitimate?

Reena
Reena

Did you apply for a job with this Company?

If this comes out of the blue... then I would be careful.

One of the common scams is to hire you to work from home and one of your job duties is to receive a bunch of checks from their clients and you are supposed to deposit the checks and then forward the funds via Western Union to another account.

Pretty soon you will either find that the checks bounced and you don't have an employer but got scammed and now you owe the bank a lot of money

or...

You get a visit from a not so friendly police man that arrests you for money laundering.

Remember.. if it sounds too good to be true... it usually is.

Jannice
Jannice

I recently received an offer as well, and requested information from them to verify if they are legit, just did that today, but have not gotten the answers from them yet. The information they are asking me for set off several red flags and I am 99% sure they are not legit, so I am going to pass them up if I can't verify their information to my satisfactory. I would advise anyone else to do the same. Ask Questions until you feel comfortable. The work flow process does not make good sense for business people. BE AWARE!!!

Jannice

Jill Brown
Jill Brown

I also received an email AFTER I applied for a position... via yahoo hotjobs... I didn't know it was work from home until they emailed me.... I am trying to figure out if they are legit.

This page is not allowing me to answer again...only edit my old post....is this normal??

Jaime
Jaime

I just got this same email, and I was doing a search on them and found this question. There have been attempts to scam me before, and I usually just blow them off. I'm still trying to find out information. They just sent me a policy and procedures to sign and send back. With an offer of 850 dollars a week. They have a fax number but I am not able to find a telephone number. As desperate as I am for a job, this doesn't sound like a legit one to me either. Even though it looks extremely legit.

Liz
Liz

Hey! let me know what happens...

i got the same email from them too, from a hotjobs ad i applied to last week...

i didn't know it was a work-from-home position..

Something Different
Something Different

I was wondering if you ever found anything out???

Scott
Scott

I got one, too, after applying for something similar on Craigslist, and it doesn't look good. First of all, the subject line was "We received your application through the CraigList was successful." Strike one for grammar.

The name of the company is McGuire Estates, and according to allwhois.com, the domain mcgadvise.com was registered on June 28th of this year (yesterday). The phone number for the domain registration is a landline in Houston, Texas. The domain of the email address (mcguirehiring.com) was registered on June 13th. The phone number for that domain registration is also in Texas, although both sites claim a NY address for the headquarters. The street address on their website lists the wrong zip code (should be 10018, according to Google), as do the domain registrations, and neither domain registration lists a complete mailing address.

There's no listing for McGuire Estates in the NY/NJ area, and the phone number listed on their site is unpublished.

If anyone has any other domains to look up, please share!

aventuravbs
aventuravbs

Thank you for posting this question and to all of you who answered. I'm looking for WFH business and it's been quite frustrating to come up against all these scammers! I applied via Craig's List (which has been adventure) and had the same feeling that this opportunity wasn't quite right, but seemed legitimate all at the same time.

I think the question has been answered - not legitimate opportunity!

I would add to the last person's answer (thank you for being so detailed) that these folks never pick up their phone no matter what time you call, and I have called numerous times since yesterday.

Also, they do not appear on any search engines and their news stories cannot be verified. I will give them this, they did a decent job on the news articles ....they reference real and legitimate organizations and companies, but again, you will not be able to verify b/c they are not in any other articles or websites.

I also researched on the BBB and I submitted a request for them to verify this company and explained why...hopefully that will at least start a file on them.

Very frustrating!

G-man 863
G-man 863

I agree with the other answers. Having experience in HR (and currently searching for a new job), this "offer" is full of red flags:

-- NO legitimate employer offers a position without doing one or more interviews.

-- If you already submitted your phone # in the resume, a HR person should call you to set an interview.

-- No address or phone # for client contacts on the website.

-- Web searches for the exact phrase "McGuire Estates" return ONLY this post!

My thought is they're phishing for your social security number and other ID theft data when you submit your "hiring paperwork".

Good luck on finding a legitimate job. :-)

Lorrie
Lorrie

I got an offer from McGuire as well, the same one everyone else got. This is not a legitimate opportunity. Pass it on, everybody. This is shameful for people to take advantage of others like this, especially when so many people are hungry for a job. Thanks, everybody, for the info shared on this scam.

VeG
VeG

I would like to thank all of you who commented on this questions because I was wondering about all the same things. I received the same email about 1 week ago and it just sounded too good to be true. Now I realize it was. I just hope others took the same time too investigate these types of scams too protect themselves. Once again thanks to all of you


Share this on your favorite networks

Career Discussions

Nyx Potential job is checking references -? (2 answers)

And one of my references has a temporary job change therefore the number is different.Should I let the person checking know this right away?When said ...

Alexandra Can my company tell me my last day is 30th Septmeber when I haven't resigned? (2 answers)

I have had a letter today to say my last day at work will be 30th September as I am moving away from the area.I have been considering moving away beca ...

sweetkisses.xXx What are some jobs/careers that involve travel? (2 answers)

I love traveling, and i'd love doing it for a job. what are some good paying jobs where you can travel, and actually see they places where you wo ...

antorin u How do i quit this job ive only been at a week? (2 answers)

Ok so im working at a vet clinic cleaning and ive only been there a week and i was excited to get my first job, but now i go to bed every nite practic ...

Race Potter I need the best advice I caN GET? (1 answers)

You see,my dad's business is going okay but we seem to run out of money but thank god we havent gone bankrupt.Then that day was my mums birthday. ...

Alex N Can someone help me out with my job hunt? (2 answers)

I've literally tried everything, applied everywhere, hit up all the job boards, am going to career centers... nothing! Nothing's working! No ...

Lu¥ I just got a job at the YMCA and they want 2 things i don't have? (3 answers)

They told me that i have to go back next week with my drivers license and my social security card.. the problem is that .. my drivers license is still ...

john d What are basic job skills that I can say that I have in an interview? (2 answers)

I plan on getting an interview really soon and I wanted to know what job skills can I say that I have in order to sell myself to the company as a grea ...

Priya Krishnan Qualification to become a medical transcriber? (1 answers)

My friend is an MBA graduate with 3 years of exp and Now she is not in a position to work full time and looking for a medical transcription job. Some ...

Gerg Is it better to apply to a bunch of jobs online or just go in person? (3 answers)

I'm just looking for a temporary job, maybe like a stock clerk and what not. ...